to becky j

Professor Mark,

Let me start by saying that everyone’s favorite part of graduation (except for our fab commencement speaker of course) was when you received your award; our section was ready for it the whole time and finally went nuts when it happened. It was no surprise to me that everyone around me was your #1 fan. I will always admire how you managed to build a community, almost a family, and create a safe, exciting space for students to learn, explore, and be themselves. Tulane is such a cold campus sometimes but somehow you managed to make the unthinkable happen in our Women in Comedy class. My grandma even remembered your name when they called it at graduation. At the beginning of the year, I was in the midst of some of the hardest situations I had ever been through. I wasn’t sleeping, I was so depressed, and at times I really wanted to give up. My grandma called me multiple times a week to check in and consistently the one good thing I had going on in my life was our Women in Comedy class. Over the weekend I would talk to her about how I just needed to make it to Tuesday because then I had English and I knew I would always leave English feeling great. Thank you so much for giving me that. Your encouragement pushed me to follow my dreams; I finally had someone who believed in me. Comedy brought me back to life. I will never be able to thank you enough for all you did for me. Please keep in touch and come visit me and Anna in LA!

All my love and appreciation,
Sam

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Leave a comment